Illinois State Police remind drivers to ‘pass’ Scott’s Law Day
CHICAGO – Thursday is Scott’s Law Day, and Illinois State Police are reminding residents to “move on.”
The Scott Law, also known as the Move Over Law, was implemented in 2002 after the death of Lt. Scott Gillen of the Chicago Fire Department. He was struck and killed on December 23, 2000 by a drunk driver on the Dan Ryan Freeway while helping at the scene of an accident.
The law stipulates that when approaching an emergency vehicle or any vehicle whose hazard or hazard lights are on, a motorist must slow down and move, by putting a safe distance lane between the vehicle emergency and himself.
A Chicago driver turned into the vehicle of an arrested state police sergeant on Thursday. | Illinois State Police
In recent years, Illinois State Police have witnessed an increased number of accidents involving Scott’s Law. In 2021, so far, 22 state police police cars have been hit and 13 soldiers have been injured.
In 2020, the number was 15 Scott’s Law-related accidents and 27 in 2019.
DOWNLOAD THE FOX 32 NEWS APP
A motorist who breaks Scott’s Law can face a fine ranging from $ 250 to over $ 10,000, even for a first offense.
If the violation results in injury to another person, the motorist’s driver’s license would be suspended from six months to two years.
“True winter road conditions have yet to reach Illinois,” FAI Director Brendan F. Kelly said in a statement. “It is everyone’s responsibility to watch the road and drive responsibly. Our soldiers are there to make sure those stuck on the side of the road are safe, so please, protect the soldiers who are trying to protect you. “
December 23 of each year is referred to as Scott Law Day.