Green Chicago River 2022: How to watch the dye live ahead of the city’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade

CHICAGO — After a two-year pandemic hiatus, the city of Chicago is once again welcoming crowds to watch its famous St. Patrick’s Day river dye.

Last year, Chicago dyed the river green again — but the city did it by surprise so as not to draw large crowds amid the pandemic.

WATCH: Chicago Pulls Off the Surprise and Dyes the River Green for St. Patrick’s Day 2021

Here’s everything you need to know about this unique St. Patrick’s Day tradition for 2022:

When do they dye the Chicago River green?

The Chicago River will be dyed green beginning at 11 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. CT / 8 a.m. PT Saturday, according to city officials. Watch live coverage from our sister station WLS on our website.

The Chicago River Tincture will take place just west of the Columbus Bridge east of Orleans before Wolf Point.

RELATED: Patrick Wore Blue, Not Green: More St. Patrick’s Day Myths, Facts

How does Chicago dye the river green for St. Patrick’s Day?

The Chicago River Dye is the work of Chicago Plumbers Union Local 130. They use a proprietary dye to turn the Chicago River green in three boats, two with the secret sauce and a hunter ship to mix it up. The dye is basically a food coloring concocted by plumbers years ago to help detect leaks in buildings.

How long does the Chicago River stay green?

The dye will stay in the river for 24-48 hours.

What will the weather be like in Chicago on Saturday morning?

Saturday will be sunny but very cold and windy, with wind chills in the single digits only. The temperature is expected to reach 20 degrees by the time the river dyeing begins at 10 a.m., but it will only be 5 degrees.

Copyright © 2022 WABC-TV. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.